Call for Submissions for the 2020 Digital Religion Research Award

Call for Submissions for the 2020 Digital Religion Research Award

The Network for New Media, Religion and Digital Culture Studies (NMRDC; is pleased to announce the call for published works (an article or
book chapter) for consideration for the newly established Digital Religion Research Award.
This award is to recognize outstanding research in the area of Digital Religion studies, which
explores the intersection between religion, technology and digital, networked cultures.
Preference will be given to research engaging with the work of Heidi A Campbell, Director of
the Network, who is considered a pioneer in the field of Digital Religion Studies. As a Professor
of Communication at Texas A&M University Campbell has written numerous articles and books
exploring religious communities use of the Internet, as well as key theoretical works in the
study of digital religion.

The Award Committee is made up of members of the Advisory Board of the NMRDC Network.
To be considered for this award, submissions may explore themes related to the practice and
understanding of religion in online and offline spaces, rhetoric of digital technology, ethical
implications of network or mobile technologies, religious engagement with emerging media and
how forces of the secular and religious interact in digital cultures. Interdisciplinary works are
encouraged, as well as those addressing at least two of the following fields: Area Studies,
Communication, Ethics, Game Studies, Gender Studies, Information Science, Internet studies,
Philosophy of Technology, Media Studies, Religious Studies, Sociology of Religion and/or
Technology, and Theology.

Submissions will be evaluated based on the quality of their: (1) advancement of knowledge in
the area Digital Religion Studies (2) application of Campbell’s approaches and concepts, (3)
originality and creativity of research topic, and (4) clear organization and presentation of
overall argument.

The winner of the 2020 award will be given a plaque and be invited to give a talk at a special
session of the 2020 International Society of Media, Religion and Culture conference where the
award will be given. Travel expenses of up to $2000 (USD) to the conference site in Sweden,
along with conference fees and housing expenses will also be covered.

Only single authored works are accepted. Book chapters from a single authored book will also
be considered, however that work will be judged only on the basis of the specific chapter
submitted and should be further explained or contextualized in the submission narrative.
Applications and articles may only be submitted for award consideration once. Published
materials submitted must have appeared in print between Jan 2018 to Dec 2019, to be eligible
for the 2020 award. Please send a PDF or electronic copy of the article/chapter to along with a 1-2 page letter, addressed to the committee, which
provides an abstract of the work to be considered and a narrative that explains how your article
meets the stated evaluation criteria.

Submission deadline is February 25, 2020
Notification of the award will be sent out in April 2020.